Recently I made a Turtle Art creation in CSAI (Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence) class. Our assignment was to create our name using code and to turn our name into an artwork. This took a lot of time, around two hours to make, but in the end it turned out really well.

At first, I had some issues with the code, because I was trying to do one letter in black, then move the turtle to the exact same location and do the same letter in a smaller pen size and different color. The problem was, I couldn’t figure out the exact coordinate that the turtle needed to move to, so I was stuck guessing, and it didn’t look the best. To solve this, I realized I could write the whole word in black, then go back to the beginning (0 , 0) and rewrite the word in the other colors. Once I figured this out, the rest of the project went pretty smoothly, except for one little hiccup. This is the main code I used.

The problem I was having involved the lowercase A. I could make the circle, but I couldn’t figure out how to position the little tail in the right place. Because of this, I ended up having a little gap between the circle and the tail. I kept experimenting, and I finally figured out how to fix it. My code was written so the location of the tail depended on where the circle started and ended. This ensured that even if I kept trying to get the tail in the right place, it would never be perfect, so I rewrote the code so that the location of the tail didn’t depend on where the circle was. This is the code used for the black part of my name.

As for the actual code, I used lots of action blocks to make my code more organized and neat. Since I was writing my name in cursive, I used lots of arc blocks to create curves. For the background, I created a pattern using circles and lines, and then went over it in a darker gray and a smaller pen size to create the inside of the bigger lines. This is the code I used for the colorful part of my name.